Student Support Services

Play Video

Welcome Message from the Student Support Services Manager

Extended First Year Virtual Orientation Schedule (via Zoom) From 06 Apr to 23 Apr 2021

Extended Virtual Orientation Programme April 2021
14 downloads Download 200.4 KB

What do they do?

With the start of university life comes exciting possibilities – new friends, new experiences, increased independence, young ‘adult’ status… the list goes on. Of course, there are bound to be challenges too (all quite ‘normal’ and to be expected) – the responsibility for your own learning and well-being, meeting deadlines, dealing with content that is different to the subjects you studied at school, uncertainty about your career choice, poor study habits, being away from home, adjusting to a new environment, partner problems, peer pressure to do something you might not wish to do… here again we could have a long list! 

The student counsellors at Student Support Services offices are registered psychologists who offer a free and confidential service to help you to adjust to your new environment, navigate it successfully, and work with any challenges you might experience. 

PLUS: The Student Support Services has a Career Development Officer (CDO) who links you with the world of work from year 1! Think career exhibitions, employment and bursary opportunities, and workshops to develop and market your skills and yourself!

Who are they and where to find them on campus?

Vinotha Moodley

Howard College Campus

How to Contact Student Support Services while you are studying remotely

Student Support Services will offer psychotherapy,  personal counselling, career counselling and academic counselling via email,  telephone, Zoom chat,  Zoom video and Teams.

To schedule an appointment, please contact:

Already seen a student counsellor in the past?

Students who have had regular contact with one of the student counsellors may contact their counsellors directly via email:

Angeline Stephens

stephensa@ukzn.ac.za

Ayanda Zondo

zondoa2@ukzn.ac.za

Candice McCain

mccain@ukzn.ac.za

Lindani Mnyaka

mnyakal@ukzn.ac.za

Lindi Ngubane

ngubanel@ukzn.ac.za

Mariam Jassat

jassat@ukzn.ac.za

Rethabile Oliphant

oliphants@ukzn.ac.za

Tracey Visser

vissert@ukzn.ac.za

INSPIRING GREATNESS